What is the best way to accomplish the following?
I would like the City field in the ZipCode table changed to all UPPER CASE. Currently, it’s upper/lower.
For example, Galax to GALAX.
ZipCode Table - City Field CAPS?
ZipCode Table - City Field CAPS?
Last edited by hokiejill on Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
- Johnny5
- 500 Club: Champion Contributor
- Posts: 654
- Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 2:03 pm
- Location: John Dwulet
Re: ZipCode Table -- City Field
Good day,
There is currently no method within the software to change the cities to all caps. I will consult development on this one.
JD
There is currently no method within the software to change the cities to all caps. I will consult development on this one.
JD
John Dwulet AKA: Johnny5
Retired - Mitchell1
Retired - Mitchell1
- timbre4
- System Guru / Moderator
- Posts: 4532
- Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
- Location: TN - Volunteer State
Re: ZipCode Table - City Field CAPS?
In the meantime, you might consider changing your most popular zip codes to be CAPS using the Zip Code Mapping option under Standard Tables:
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
Re: ZipCode Table - City Field CAPS?
I've taken care of the most common cities.
Is there a way to run SQL scripts on this database to make mass changes?
Is there a way to run SQL scripts on this database to make mass changes?
-
- 750 Club: World Class Contributor
- Posts: 755
- Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:24 am
- Location: Iowa
Re: ZipCode Table - City Field CAPS?
What's the reason for wanting this?hokiejill wrote:What is the best way to accomplish the following?
I would like the City field in the ZipCode table changed to all UPPER CASE. Currently, it’s upper/lower.
For example, Galax to GALAX.
Re: ZipCode Table - City Field CAPS?
The reason is standardization. We have all name and address in all caps for all of our databases and software systems (we use other software besides Manager Plus).
-
- 750 Club: World Class Contributor
- Posts: 755
- Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:24 am
- Location: Iowa
Re: ZipCode Table - City Field CAPS?
hokiejill wrote:The reason is standardization. We have all name and address in all caps for all of our databases and software systems (we use other software besides Manager Plus).
Gotcha
- Johnny5
- 500 Club: Champion Contributor
- Posts: 654
- Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 2:03 pm
- Location: John Dwulet
Re: ZipCode Table - City Field CAPS?
Yes there is - you would also want to update the customer address table to UPPERCASE.:hokiejill wrote:I've taken care of the most common cities.
Is there a way to run SQL scripts on this database to make mass changes?
For the geeks out there the command are:
sqlcmd /E /S .\SHOPSTREAM -Q "UPDATE ShopMgt.SM.ZipCode SET [City] = UPPER(City)"
sqlcmd /E /S .\SHOPSTREAM -Q "UPDATE ShopMgt.SM.Addresses SET [City] = UPPER(City)"
Here is a link to a batch file that runs the commands for you, you have to run this on the host. No need to exit Manager. http://m1faqs.com/fix/SE/changetocaps.bat
JD
John Dwulet AKA: Johnny5
Retired - Mitchell1
Retired - Mitchell1